Update browser for a secure Minnesota Orchestra experience

It looks like you may be using a web browser version that we don't support. Make sure you're using the most recent version of your browser, or try using of these supported browsers, to get the full Minnesota Orchestra experience: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge.

Minnesota Orchestra | © Tony Nelson
Inaugural Concerts:

Søndergård Conducts Alpine Symphony

Thu Sep 21 — Sat Sep 23, 2023

Orchestra Hall

~2 hours, including intermission

There was immediate and powerful chemistry when Thomas Søndergård and the Minnesota Orchestra first performed the music of Richard Strauss together in 2021. Now, the Orchestra and its new music director present a program bookended by works from a composer whose music helped ignite this special partnership. The 2023–24 season leaps into action with Strauss’ heroic Don Juan and epic Alpine Symphony. At the center of the program, Principal Oboe Nathan Hughes makes his solo debut playing Mozart’s Oboe Concerto.

A Few Things to Know

  • In addition to his recent appointment as music director of the Minnesota Orchestra, Thomas Søndergård was just named the recipient of the 2023 Carl Nielsen and Anne Marie Carl-Nielsen Foundation honorary award.
  • Strauss’ Alpine Symphony is unconventional in myriad ways. It originally called for as many as 130 musicians to perform onstage at one time, and the piece is formed from 22 connected sections that depict a climber’s journey to the peak of a mountain.
  • Nathan Hughes, newly appointed as the Minnesota Orchestra’s principal oboe, grew up in the Twin Cities and is proud to return to his hometown orchestra. Read our recent q&a with him.

Explore the concert extras

Date & Time





    Don Juan

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    This symphonic poem tells of Don Juan’s romantic exploits, disillusionment with life and ultimate death in a swordfight; notable are the work’s mighty horn calls, sweeping violin writing and gorgeous cantilena for solo oboe.


    Oboe Concerto

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    Mozart’s lone concerto for oboe shows the instrument at its most lyrical, with the soloist playing gracefully above a quietly-murmuring orchestra, then engaging in an energetic Rondo.


    An Alpine Symphony

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    The Alpine Symphony paints a vivid musical picture of a climb through Strauss’ beloved Bavarian Alps, employing dazzling orchestral colors and demanding phenomenal feats of virtuosity from the musicians.


Minnesota Orchestra

Thomas Søndergård


Nathan Hughes



Video: Inside the Score: Søndergård Conducts Alpine Symphony

Listen Ahead

Accessibility Services

  • Armless & Bariatric Chairs
  • Assistive Listening Devices
  • Large-Print Programs
  • Noise-Cancelling Headphones
  • Service Animals
  • Wheelchair & Accessible Seating

Additional services are available upon request.

Sponsored by


The 2023-2024 Classical Season is presented by Ameriprise Financial.